I lost Robin, Robin lost me.

FirminLogbook5 Comments

Laos mountains

Today, rather comical situations : I lost Robin, Robin and lost me. In normal times, when the altitude is highly variable as is the case for several days, Unlike rhythms between the bike and trike is widely felt. The consequence is that each rise, I find myself quickly ahead, unable to pedal slowly enough without falling, trying to find my most enjoyable pace. In general, I stopped at the top of each collar to wait my buddies, which then will fade away before during descent, favored by a much more stable mount my bike, and at much lower center of gravity. Just then a slight rise or false flat for me to catch up in less than two aero position with my road bike handlebars. I exceeded the rise after, and the loop begins again. It's a real rhythmic yo-yo.

so today, this accordion effect will have been due to us.

After a short break snack / pee on top of a hill, Robin loose his brakes to begin the descent. Busy store the banana regime which we have just started a good half, I watch it disappear behind the road surface, to throw myself at his heels a minute later.

Knowing faster than me downhill, I'm not surprised not to see him down the neck. I have only to catch up ! The road is slightly uphill, I decided to go quiet. The difference in rates will do the rest !

15 minutes pass, a half hour, then an hour… No trace of Robin. But what it takes to him ? Ok, I know he just needs to swing a little Drum&Bass on the portable stereo housed in the back of his trike to suddenly have a fallen power of nowhere and gain significantly speed, but still… He abuses a little there, non ?

Knowing that I'm not fast enough to catch up, I choose to change music playlist and play something more motivating than the complaints of Jacques Brel who accompanied me this morning, I cling to my handlebars and I accelerate the pace.

15 minutes later, still not the least for Robin… But what fly stung ? Is it about to try to catch me, having forgotten that for once, is me following behind ? Or maybe it's me who got crazy ? I have only a head certainty : I did not see the edge of the road. If he was in front of me at checkout, then it can not be otherwise now, unless… Could have taken a wrong turn ? There has been a branch at one time, but how could he take the road engaging in a direction completely opposite to that we must take ? It has a GPS, it makes no sense… Could he have done off the road in the downhill and end up in the ditch adjacent to the road, which would have made invisible from the road ?

At the moment, everything is mixed in my head, and I'm not sure of anything. I come even to doubt the fact that he left before me, while there is still 10 minutes, I was absolutely convinced. In doubt, assuming that I am crazy and has well been behind me, I decide to stop at the roadside and wait.

Firmin lost Laos

I sit comfortably and I start to work in the shade of a tree. After half an hour, the evidence seems to be emerging : it is not behind. But how on earth could it be before, without having swallowed three kilograms of vitamins ? I leave then, empty-handed, not too sure whether I have to drive fast to catch up or slowly to the catch up. Unable to communicate clearly, Laos is far Keen'V internet that is good musical taste.

I begin to wonder if there really is not anything happened to my friend, and that I should not be missed without realizing it. In any case, if he had stopped, he would have remained visible in the road and would have seen me arrive, then how ? Why ?

After a few tens of kilometers, I came across an Italian tourist buses, whose occupants are busy buying souvenirs and bananas in a stand of local products. I stop and, without taking too much risk, asks for Prime tourist that comes to hand :

« Do you speak English? »

After making sure that was the case, I'm going for it :

« I lost my friend, who is riding a strange three-wheel bicycle, did you see him ?

  • Yes ! We saw him ! Italian replies, obviously very happy to help me.

  • Great ! So is he in front of me or behind me ?

  • Oh, he is far ahead ! – then it must find my dubiously – We saw him three days ago ! »

A desire to laugh then seizes me.

« No ! Not this one, the other one ! »

decidedly, this trip will have reserved some surprises me… A week ago, Arlen has left us to get ahead and find his girlfriend in Luang Prabang, have Laos. And three days ago, these Italian tourists fell on him, on the Thai border… It makes what, it, as probability ?

Suddenly a woman, who obviously followed the conversation, s’avance.

« Your friend with the funny bicycle ? Oh, yes, he is far behind you ! »

I do not know if I should be surprised or not. I must have missed an episode, the sun had hit a little hard on my head, today.

After having thanked those friendly tourists, I sit at a small table, coffee before me. I'll wait. He too must be a little shaken by so many mysteries.

As expected, I alerted after an hour of laughter and cries of children : Robin appears at the entrance of the village. He sees me, slows and comes to put next to me, shaking his head with amusement and simultaneously doubtful.

"This is where we screwed up ? I said, getting up. Happy to see you again, Robin !

  • I understood nothing, He then begins.

  • worry, Neither do I. I even thought at one time that you had sprawled in a ditch…

  • The same, haha ! After that will be lost to, when I was in front – I then reassure myself by saying I was not crazy ! -, I rode one minute or two, and I stopped to buy a cold tea, right on the floor. I have not left the road ahead, unless maybe 5 seconds, time to choose my drink in the fridge. I then sat at the table and I waited, expected, expected. After fifteen minutes, I told myself : that's it, he still managed to croak ! Then, Seeing you really not get, I say you should need help. So I went back up the hill where we had left. And… I got up. Without seeing you. I thought I had gone mad, how is it that I have missed you ?

  • It's really crazy. And how do I, I have missed you ?

  • So I wound, continue Robin, and I rolled, rolled. I thought you had to be in front, spirited run at full speed to catch me, because you believed me before you. And that's when I asked myself if I had not missed you, embedded in a clod of earth at the bottom of a ditch… To have the heart net, I stopped a, two, three cars, and I showed them your picture. It's here, seeing their air glad and frantic nod, I understand you were before. So I drove carefully, knowing that I could not catch you while driving, since you too, I was catching you. It was the endless loop, in fact.

  • And there you, now !

  • And here I am.

Trike and Bike reunion

We celebrate our reunion with a small banana – oh, how original ! – and we hit the road together, pinions. sacred history, still ! All these scenarios that we trotted in the head, to him as to me, and those truths which fell one after the other, who managed to make me doubt my own sanity.

One unknown stand forever in this story: how is it possible that we we are duds, while Robin was waiting scrutinizing eyes on the road, and I tend, for my part, rolling eyes open to see where I'm going ?

Two explanations come to mind : I may be blind and Robin also, or – and this is the most likely scenario – I had long greet some adorably hysterical children on one side of the road while Robin, exactly opposite to that time, chose his cold tea before turning one second after I disappeared into his back.

Oh heck, enough thought for today, my brain too overheated, anyway. Place this beautiful descent and these fifty kilometers that await me, and that I will perform stuck behind the wheel to Robin if possible not to lose before the end of our day's stage, Oudomxay !

Author

Firmin

engineer 26, I am not only passionate about watts and technology. Writing, music, travel and sushi are among the things that speak to me, among others.

5 Comments on "I lost Robin, Robin lost me.”

  1. I understand you had scared! Rémi is specialist to make his way and dump me no problem so I know all the questions to the nuts that arises at this point … Congratulations again for your reports

  2. it does not take much for everything skids . Fortunately for you all finished well not grans intense journey without emotion

Leave a Reply

J’ai perdu Robin, Robin m’a perdu.

FirminJournal de bord5 Comments

Laos montagne

Aujourd’hui, situation assez cocasse : j’ai perdu Robin, et Robin m’a perdu. En temps normal, lorsque le dénivelé est très variable comme c’est le cas depuis quelques jours, la différence de rythmes entre le vélo et le trike se fait largement ressentir. La conséquence est qu’à chaque montée, je me retrouve très vite loin devant, incapable de pédaler suffisamment lentement sans tomber, cherchant à trouver mon rythme le plus agréable. En général, je m’arrête en haut de chaque col pour attendre mes compères, qui ensuite s’effaceront loin devant lors de la descente, avantagés par une monture beaucoup plus stable que mon vélo, et au centre de gravité beaucoup plus bas. Il suffit alors d’une légère montée ou d’un faux-plat pour que je les rattrape en moins de deux en position aérodynamique grâce à mon guidon de vélo de route. Je les dépasse à la montée d’après, et la boucle recommence. C’est un véritable yo-yo rythmique.

Aujourd’hui donc, cet effet accordéon aura eu raison de nous.

Après une petite pause casse-croûte/pipi en haut d’une colline, Robin lâche ses freins pour entamer la descente. Occupé à ranger le régime de banane dont nous venons d’entamer une bonne moitié, je le regarde disparaître derrière le revêtement de la route, pour m’élancer à ses trousses une petite minute plus tard.

Le sachant plus rapide que moi en descente, je ne suis pas étonné de ne pas l’apercevoir en bas du col. Je n’ai plus qu’à le rattraper ! La route étant très légèrement en montée, je décide d’y aller tranquille. La différence des rythmes fera le reste !

15 minutes passent, une demi-heure, puis une heure… Pas de trace de Robin. Mais qu’est-ce qu’il lui prend ? Ok, je sais bien qu’il lui suffit de balancer un peu de Drum&Bass sur la stéréo portative logée à l’arrière de son trike pour soudain disposer d’une énergie tombée de nulle part et gagner en vitesse de façon considérable, mais tout de même… Il abuse un peu là, non ?

Conscient que je ne suis pas assez rapide pour le rattraper, je choisis de changer de playlist musicale et de faire jouer quelque chose de plus motivant que les complaintes de Jacques Brel qui m’ont accompagné ce matin, je me cramponne à mon guidon et j’accélère la cadence.

15 minutes plus tard, toujours pas le moindre Robin en vue… Mais quelle mouche l’a piqué ? Est-il entrain d’essayer de me rattraper, ayant oublié que pour une fois, c’est moi qui suit derrière ? Ou alors c’est moi qui suis devenu complètement dingue ? J’ai seule une certitude en tête : je ne l’ai pas vu au bord de la route. S’il était devant moi au moment de partir, alors il ne peut en être autrement actuellement, à moins que… pourrait-il avoir pris une mauvaise route ? Il y a bien eu un embranchement à un moment donné, mais comment aurait-il pu prendre la route s’engageant dans une direction parfaitement opposée à celle que nous devons prendre ? Il a un GPS, ça ne fait pas de sens… Aurait-il pu faire une sortie de route dans la descente et se retrouver dans le fossé adjacent à la route, ce qui l’aurait rendu invisible depuis la route ?

A ce moment, tout se mélange dans ma tête, et je ne suis plus sûr de rien. J’en viens même à douter du fait qu’il soit parti avant moi, alors qu’il y a encore 10 minutes, j’en étais absolument convaincu. Dans le doute, en supposant que je sois fou et qu’il ait bien toujours été derrière moi, je décide de m’arrêter au bord de la route et de l’attendre.

Firmin perdu Laos

Je m’installe confortablement et je me mets à travailler à l’ombre d’un arbre. Au bout d’une demi-heure, l’évidence semble se dessiner : il n’est pas derrière. Mais comment diable pourrait-il être devant, sans avoir avalé trois kilogrammes de vitamines ? Je repars alors, bredouille, ne sachant plus trop si je dois rouler vite pour le rattraper ou lentement pour le laisser me rattraper. Impossible de communiquer évidemment, le Laos étant jusque là à internet ce que Keen’V est au bon goût musical.

Je commence à me demander s’il n’est vraiment pas arrivé quelque chose à mon ami, et que je ne sois passé à côté sans m’en rendre compte. En tous les cas, s’il s’était arrêté, il serait resté bien visible au bord de la route et m’aurait vu arriver, alors comment ? Pourquoi ?

Au bout de quelques dizaines de kilomètres, je tombe sur un bus de touristes italiens, dont les occupants s’affairent à acheter des souvenirs et des bananes dans un stand de produits locaux. Je m’arrête et, sans prendre de trop grand risques, demande à l’intention du premier touriste qui tombe sous la main :

« Do you speak English? »

Après m’être assuré que c’était le cas, je me lance :

« I lost my friend, who is riding a strange three-wheel bicycle, did you see him ?

  • Yes ! We saw him ! me répond l’italien, visiblement très heureux de pouvoir m’aider.

  • Great ! So is he in front of me or behind me ?

  • Oh, he is far ahead ! – il doit alors constater mon air dubitatif – We saw him three days ago ! »

Une envie d’éclater de rire s’empare alors de moi.

« No ! Not this one, the other one ! »

Décidément, ce voyage m’aura réservé quelques surprises… Il y a une semaine, Arlen nous a quittés pour prendre de l’avance et retrouver sa copine à Luang Prabang, au Laos. Et trois jours auparavant, ces touristes italiens sont tombés sur lui, à la frontière thaïlandaise… Ça donne quoi, ça, comme probabilité ?

Soudain une femme, qui a visiblement suivi la conversation, s’avance.

« Your friend with the funny bicycle ? Oh, yes, he is far behind you ! »

Je ne sais plus trop si je dois être étonné ou pas. J’ai du rater un épisode, le soleil a dû taper un peu fort sur ma tête, aujourd’hui.

Après avoir bien remercié ces sympathiques touristes, je m’installe à une petite table, un café devant moi. Je vais l’attendre. Lui aussi doit être un peu secoué par tant de mystères.

Comme prévu, je suis alerté au bout d’une heure par des rires et des cris d’enfants : Robin apparaît alors à l’entrée du village. Il m’aperçoit, freine et vient se ranger à côté de moi, secouant la tête d’un air amusé et en même temps dubitatif.

« C’est où qu’on a merdé ? dis-je en me levant. Content de te revoir, Robin !

  • Je ne comprenais plus rien, commence-t-il alors.

  • T’inquiète, moi non plus. J’ai même pensé à un moment que tu t’étais vautré dans un fossé…

  • Pareil, ahah ! Après qu’on se soit perdu de vue, quand j’étais devant – je me rassure alors en me disant que je n’étais pas fou ! -, j’ai roulé une minutes ou deux, et je me suis arrêté pour m’acheter un thé froid, juste au bord de la chaussée. Je n’ai pas quitté la route des yeux, sauf peut-être 5 secondes, le temps de choisir ma boisson dans le frigo. Je me suis ensuite assis à la table et je t’ai attendu, attendu, attendu. Au bout d’un quart d’heure, je me suis dis : ça y est, il a encore réussi à crever ! Puis, ne te voyant vraiment pas arriver, je me suis dis que tu devais avoir besoin d’aide. Alors je suis remonté en haut de la colline où on s’était quitté. Et… je suis arrivé en haut. Sans te voir. Je croyais que j’étais devenu fou, comment est-ce que j’avais pu te rater ?

  • C’est vraiment dingue. Et comment est-ce que moi, j’ai pu te rater ?

  • Alors je suis redescendu, continue Robin, et j’ai roulé, roulé. Je me suis dit que tu devais être devant, entrain de rouler à toute vitesse pour me rattraper, vu que tu me croyais devant toi. Et puis c’est là que je me suis demandé si je ne t’avais pas raté, encastré dans une motte de terre au fond d’un fossé… Pour en avoir le cœur net, j’ai arrêté une, deux, trois voitures, et je leur ai montré ta photo. C’est là, en voyant leur air réjouit et leur hochement de tête frénétique, que j’ai compris que t’étais devant. Alors j’ai roulé tranquillement, sachant que je ne pourrais pas te rattraper en roulant, puisque toi aussi, tu me rattrapais. C’était la boucle sans fin, en fait.

  • Et te voilà, maintenant !

  • Et me voilà.

Trike et bike retrouvailles

On fête nos retrouvailles avec une petite banane – oh, quelle originalité ! – et nous reprenons la route ensemble, hilares. Sacrée histoire, quand même ! Tous ces scénarios qui nous trottaient dans la tête, à lui comme à moi, et ces vérités qui tombaient les unes après les autres, qui parvenaient à me faire douter de ma propre santé mentale.

Une seule inconnue subsistera à jamais dans toute cette histoire: comment est-ce possible que nous nous soyons ratés, alors que Robin m’attendait en scrutant la route des yeux, et que j’ai tendance, de mon côté, à rouler les yeux ouverts pour voir où je vais ?

Deux explications me viennent à l’esprit : je suis peut être aveugle et Robin aussi, ou alors – et c’est le scénario le plus probable – j’ai dû saluer longuement quelques enfants adorablement hystériques d’un côté de la route alors que Robin, exactement en face à ce moment là, choisissait son thé froid avant de se retourner une seconde après que j’ai disparu dans son dos.

Oh et puis zut, suffisamment réfléchi pour aujourd’hui, mon cerveau a trop surchauffé, de toute façon. Place à cette belle descente et ces cinquante derniers kilomètres qui m’attendent, et que je vais effectuer collé derrière la roue de Robin pour si possible ne plus le perdre avant la fin de notre étape du jour, à Oudomxay !

Auteur

Firmin

5 Comments on “J’ai perdu Robin, Robin m’a perdu.”

  1. il suffit d’un rien pour que tout dérape . Heureusement pour vous tout fini bien pas de grans voyage sans intense émotion

  2. Je comprends que vous ayez eu la trouille! Rémi est spécialiste pour faire son chemin et me larguer sans problème alors je connais toutes les questions à la noix qu’on se pose à ce moment là … bravo encore pour vos reportages

Laisser un commentaire